Enter now: EU Prize for Women Innovators


After a successful first edition in 2011, the European Commission has launched the second edition of the EU Prize for Women Innovators to reward three women who have achieved outstanding innovations and brought them to market.

The contest is open until 15 October 2013, 5:00 pm (Brussels time) to all women who have founded or co-founded their company and who have at some point of their careers benefited from the EU’s research framework programmes or the Competitiveness and Innovation framework programme.

The first prize is EUR 100.000, second prize EUR 50.000 and the third prize EUR 25.000.
An independent panel of judges from business and academia will examine and select the three winners who will be announced in spring 2014.

Who can apply?
Every woman innovator complying with the following criteria:

  • You are residing in an EU Member State or in a country associated to the Research Framework Programme.
  • You are the founder or co-founder of an existing and active company.
  • Your company must have been registered before 1 January 2011.
  • The annual turnover of the company must have been minimum EUR 100 000 in 2011 or 2012.
  • Either you or the company you founded/co-founded have received or is receiving funding from the European Union or the European Atomic Energy Community Research Framework Programme, or from the Competitiveness and Innovation Framework Programme (CIP).

Download the contest rules (pdf 150 KB) and the application guide (pdf) to get more information on the eligibility and evaluation criteria.

Apply now or nominate a friend or colleague to become Europe’s top female innovator, by go the application webpage!

Why did the European Commission create this Prize?
Although women are more and more active in research, there are still too few women creating innovative enterprises. This represents an untapped potential for Europe which needs all its human resources to remain competitive and find solutions to the great challenges that we are facing.

The EU Women Innovators Prize was launched in 2011 to give public recognition to outstanding women entrepreneurs who brought their innovative ideas to market and to inspire other women to follow in their footsteps.

More information
Please check the website for the latest updates on the EU Prize for Women Innovators. Discover also the winners of the EU PRIZE for WOMEN Innovators 2011.

For questions, contact rtd-women-innovators[at]ec.europa.eu.

The award ceremony in 2011:

EU Prize Women Innovators - Winners 2011
From left to right: Ilaria Rosso, 3rd prize winner; José Manuel Barroso, President of the European Commission; Gitte Neubauer, 1st prize winner; Fabienne Hermitte, 2nd prize winner; Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science; Antonio Tajani, Vice-President, Commissioner for Industry and Entrepreneurship.

(Source: ec.europa.eu)