List of winners of the European Border Breakers Awards 2013


Inspired by the slogan ‘Music should know no borders’, the European Border Breakers Awards (EBBA) for 2013 have been announced.

The EBBAs are awarded every year by the European Commission in order to recognise emerging artists’ success in reaching audiences outside their home country. With the awards, the EU aims to stimulate the circulation of European Music and talented musicians.

The award ceremony (which more resembled a rock concert) took place on 9 January 2013 at the Eurosonic /Noorderslag music conference in Groningen (the Netherlands). The winners received their awards in a televised ceremony hosted by British tv personality and musician Jools Holland. The ceremony was broadcasted on Dutch television and also live streamed on Youtube.

List of winners of the European Border Breakers Awards 2013:
- Nabiha (Denmark)
- Ewert and The Two Dragons (Estonia)
- French Films (Finland)
- C2C (France)
- Emeli Sandé (UK)
- Of Monsters and Men (Iceland)
- Dope D.O.D. (Netherlands)
- Amor Electro (Portugal)
- Juan Zelada (Spain)
- Niki and the Dove (Sweden)

Watch here a portrait of EBBA winner ‘Of Monsters and Men’:

Profile: The European Border Breakers Awards

The repertoire of emerging European artists showcases Europe’s rich cultural diversity. The circulation of new repertoire is important for people’s access to it. The European Border Breakers Awards aim to stimulate the cross-border circulation of new music. Access to new music and its circulation are crucial for artists’ capacity to build up relations with the wider European public. The European Commission acknowledges that the European music sector contributes significantly to our economy, together with our other creative industries.

In their home country, artists enjoy the support of their fans, who buy their CDs and go to their concerts. However, it is difficult for emerging talents to break the borders between them and foreign audiences and to generate sales in other EU countries. The EBBAs reward emerging artists or groups successful in this field.

The winners are selected on the basis of Nielsen Music Control research, data from the European Broadcasting Union (EBU) radio stations and from festivals participating in the European Talent Exchange Program (ETEP).

The Eurosonic/Noorderslag Festival is in charge of organising the selection and the award ceremony of the EBBAs. The Eurosonic/Noorderslag Festival was selected in 2009 further to an open call for proposals as part of the “Special action” of the Culture Programme.